Promoting and Improving     
     Population Health in Kansas

Each year during the Fall Conference, the Kansas Public Health Association recognizes service and commitment to public health through a variety of awards.

The Awards Committee is now considering nominations that are submitted by June 24, 2016.

Awards will be presented at the 73rd Annual KPHA Conference which will be held at the DoubleTree by Hilton Wichita Airport, Wichita, Kansas on September 20-21, 2016. Please see the nomination form here for award descriptions and instructions. Submit nominations to the Kansas Public Health Association by emailing that form to If you should have any questions, please contact Becky Tuttle at (316)683-9441.

Awards Categories

  • Samuel J. Crumbine Medal, KPHA's highest award, is given for meritorious service and state, regional, or national recognition related to the improvement of the health of Kansans and/or the environment of the state. Recipients of other KPHA awards may receive this award. This award includes a $2,000 scholarship prize.

View the recipients since 1946

  • Special Service Awards are for individuals who have rendered outstanding service to Kansas in the interest of public health and/or environmental improvement. Two special service awards may be given annually, one of which may be to a non-member of KPHA.
  • Dorothy Woodin Award is bestowed on a public health nurse for outstanding public health nursing services.
  • Jane Addams Award is for a social worker who exemplifies the qualities of Jane Addams, including a pioneering spirit, a trailblazer, and one striving to improve the health of the poor and the sanitary conditions of communities.
  • Virginia Lockhart Health Education Award is given for outstanding service in public promotion of health and/or environmental issues.
  • Corporate Public Health Service Award may be presented annually to a company or organization which, through public policy activities, makes a significant contribution to the mission of public health and/or environmental improvement in Kansas.
  • President's Award is awarded at the discretion of the association's president to acknowledge special accomplishments of an individual or organization towards improving the public's health in Kansas.

  • Public Health Policy Maker(s) of the Year may be awarded annually to local, state, or federal lawmakers who are public health champions. Considerations should include legislation sponsored or co-sponsored by the lawmaker, any leadership provided in protecting public health programs and funding, policy initiatives designed to protect the public’s health and any other examples of leadership that cannot necessarily be captured in a legislator’s voting record.

2016 Award Recipients

Samuel J. Crumbine Medal
Gianfranco Pezzino, MD, MPH

Public Health Policy Makers of the Year
Kansas City, KS, Mayor Mark

 Kansas City, MO, Mayor Sly James

Dorothy Woodin Award
Janis Goedeke, ARNP

Corporate Service
The Wichita Eagle Editorial Board

Special Service Award
Debbie Nickels, RN, BSN

Jane Adams Award
Kendra Baldridge, LMSW

The President’s Award
Mark Thompson, PhD
2016 Poster Winners

Best Poster
Vaccination Rates Among Older Adult Women in Kansas; Nikki Keene Woods

Honorable Mentions
Baby Talk: Pilot Testing a Community Collaborative Prenatal Education Program; Molly Brown

Disparities in Exposure to Secondhand Smoke among Kansas Adults- 2014 Kansas Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System; Belle Federman

Assessing Health Literacy among Older Adults; Amy Chesser, Nikki Keene Woods

Honorable Mention and Judge's Choice
Social Engagment Level Impact on Health
Joey Lightner

View the 2016 award recipients

View the 2015 award recipients

View the 2013 award recipients

View the 2012 award recipients

View the 2011 award recipients

Thank you to our 2016 KPHA conference sponsors.

KPHA is Kansas's leading public health advocacy association!
  Home  | Help | Facebook 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software